My Cart   |   Log In   |   Contact Us

You may also be interested in this/these product(s)

Six Suites for Marimba (Bach/trans. Stevens) Price: $39.00
Gigue and Double (by Andrea Venet) Price: $18.00

Suite V (by Andrea Venet)

Price: $25.00

Product Information

This solo suite arrangement/transcription is a synthesis of J.S. Bach’s solo string suites BWV1011 and BWV995 for solo cello and lute. I have transposed and added extra harmonies, figuration and ornamentation from the lute version in G minor (BWV995) into the cello version (BWV1011). I have chosen to integrate and reference the lute version for two main reasons, with the first being that the lute, as a plucked, chordal instrument, has inherent characteristics in common with the marimba. Secondly, integrating harmonies and added contrapuntal lines into the cello suite has provided a more in-depth understanding of Bach’s intended character and compositional devices.

-Andrea Venet

Click to view full performance by Andrea Venet (YouTube)

View Excerpt

Musical Features
Technical Features
Instrumentationmarimba (5.0)
Level SuggestionIntermediate-Advanced